Porcupyn's Blog

October 27, 2009

Brain getting rusty

Filed under: Uncategorized — Porcupyn @ 9:17 am

I admit it – I am slipping. It happened this weekend. At Schiphol Airport.

Dude walks up to me and says Paramaribo. I have no clue what he is saying or in what language. Then he repeats, Paramaribo, Suriname, 9:10 am. Now, I get the feeling that I am in the middle of some Nancy Drew or Hardy Boys mystery or something. But it quickly dawns upon me that he is looking for his gate and, somehow, probably, I have an honest looking face and appear to be a totally D-not person (and why shouldn’t I, because my flight out was not until 1:05 pm?), which is why he is asking me and not one of the uniformed folks at the information counter (kids, do not try it at your next airport layover).

Anyway, I directed him to his gate (I hope he understood me when I said E2, especially because I had to say it a couple of times and then point out the letter E on the board towards the correct concourse), and got to thinking how that flight was going to go over the sometimes turbulent middle Atlantic Ocean. I also wondered how long that flight would be (haven’t yet googled to figure it out).

But, and this is the reason for the title of this post, I never put two and two together –> Netherlands … Suriname … Aruba … Halloway … Kalpoe brothers etc. Until yesterday, when I came upon a link to some awesome Deepavali photos (my favourites #s 1, 21-24, 26, 33), and there in the comments was a reference to the Kalpoes (in reference to photo # 24).

Note to myself: enough of the King of Queens; need to get back to watching Jeopardy (same time slot).

PS: Check out the reverence in the soldier’s eyes in #27 – great photo!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

